Hall of Fame, a very rich 2023 class: Wade, Nowitzki, Popovich and many others

The Hall of Famer class who will be inducted into basketball’s Olympus in a few months will truly be among the richest ever. Although the names were anticipated in recent days by ESPN, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame just now made them official.

Former players who will become Hall of Famers this year include. Dirk Nowitzki, Dwyane Wade, Pau Gasol and Tony Parker, who will also be accompanied by Gregg Popovich, still active at least until the end of the season on the bench of the San Antonio Spurs. Also Becky Hammon, Pop’s own assistant at Texas for a few years and now head coach of the Las Vegas Aces in the WNBA, will enter the Hall of Fame.

Other names to be introduced this year are those of Jim Valvano, Michael Jordan’s North Carolina coach who won the NCAA Tournament in 1983, Gene Keady, former Purdue coach, Gary Blair, former Texas A&M women’s coach, Gene Bess, coach in the junior college world with over 1,300 wins, David Hixon, former coach for 42 years in NCAA Division III, and all of the 1976 Team USA women’s, a gold medalist at the Montreal Olympics.

Scroll to Top