According to ESPN’s Zach Lowe, the NBA decided to nullify Giannis Antetokounmpo’s 10th rebound against the Washington Wizards and thus his fourth triple-double of the season so far.
The reason should be found in the league’s rules, which say that for a basket attempt to be considered official, the player must shoot “with the intent to score a basket.”
The league has rescinded Giannis Antetokounmpo’s 10th rebound last night-and thus his triple-double, sources tell ESPN. League rules say that for a field-goal attempt to count as official, the player has to shoot “with intent to score a field-goal”-i.e. to make the shot.
– Zach Lowe (@ZachLowe_NBA) March 6, 2023
Instead, The Greek Freak grabbed his 10th rebound of the game after intentionally missing an open shot at the end of the match win against the Washington Wizards.
Giannis Antetokounmpo, who already had 23 points and 13 assists, spoke about this controversy after the 117 to 111 win. “I was thinking about scoring, but I feel that in those situations it’s better to keep the ball. But yeah, I just try to play smart and in a way I stole one.”, he said previously.
And just like that Giannis gets the triple-double!!! pic.twitter.com/oKWDoNrQzL
– Milwaukee Bucks (@Bucks) March 6, 2023
In the end it feels right to us. We honestly did not understand all the hate that was poured on Giannis Antetokounmpo for this choice. He did nothing wrong and did not offend/humiliate anyone. He simply wanted to improve his statistics. Nothing more, nothing less.
Read also: METTA WORLD PEACE – a PANDA in the PANDEMONY of the Pianella