NBA bans rest for stars — but with some exceptions

The NBA has launched the new “Player Participation Policy”. This is a set of rules aimed at hindering the so-called “load management”.

In recent years, it has become increasingly common to hold at rest the best players, especially in the post-season finale or when the franchise no longer has major goals. The result? Lots of star-less games that have little commercial appeal and infuriate fans, who, after buying well in advance and at not-so-cheap prices, tickets for a match find themselves without their idols on the parquet.

The new rules affect the “star players”, meaning those players summoned for theAll Star Game or included in one of the first three quintets in the last three seasons. Each team will be allowed to rest a maximum of one of these athletes per night, will have to ensure their presence for nationally televised games and in the new In-Season tournament, maintain a balance between home and away rests, and ensure that stars who are not summoned are still present in the front row of the arena.

The list of players involved.

Trae Young (Atlanta), Dejounte Murray (Atlanta), Ben Simmons (Brooklyn), Jayson Tatum (Boston), Jaylen Brown (Boston), LaMelo Ball (Charlotte), DeMar DeRozan (Chicago), Zach LaVine (Chicago), Nikola Vucevic (Chicago), Donovan Mitchell (Cleveland), Jarrett Allen (Cleveland), Darius Garland (Cleveland), Luka Doncic (Dallas), Kyrie Irving (Dallas), Nikola Jokic (Denver), Stephen Curry (Golden State), Draymond Green (Golden State), Andrew Wiggins (Golden State), Chris Paul (Golden State), Fred VanVleet (Houston), Tyrese Haliburton (Indiana), Kawhi Leonard (LA Clippers), Paul George (LA Clippers), LeBron James (LA Lakers), Anthony Davis (LA Lakers), Ja Morant (Memphis), Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis), Jimmy Butler (Miami), Bam Adebayo (Miami), Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee), Jrue Holiday (Milwaukee), Khris Middleton (Milwaukee), Rudy Gobert (Minnesota), Karl-Anthony Towns (Minnesota), Mike Conley (Minnesota), Anthony Edwards (Minnesota), Zion Williamson (New Orleans), Julius Randle (New York), Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (Oklahoma City), Joel Embiid (Philadelphia), James Harden (Philadelphia), Bradley Beal (Phoenix), Devin Booker (Phoenix), Kevin Durant (Phoenix), Damian Lillard (Portland), Domantas Sabonis (Sacramento), De’Aaron Fox (Sacramento), Pascal Siakam (Toronto), Lauri Markkanen (Utah).

Read more :   Monty Williams calls the non-whistle to DiVincenzo on Ausar Thompson an ABOMINATION

There are, of course, some exceptions for injuries and for the most “seniors”. Specifically, anyone who is at least 35 years old, 34,000 minutes played in the regular season or 1,000 games between the regular season and playoffs will be allowed to skip a back-to-back contest, provided the franchise notifies the league, giving reasons, at least one week before the match. Availing themselves of this exception are: Chris Paul, Mike Conley, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, LeBron James, DeMar DeRozan and James Harden.

Roberto Caporilli
Latest posts by Roberto Caporilli (see all)

Scroll to Top